Pumpkin Muffins

Pumpkin Things 2012 29

The Pie is a huge, HUGE fan of muffins.  Not really sure why.  But he is.  And he requested that with the massive amounts of pumpkin purée we have that I make up some pumpkin muffins.  And I love the Smitten Kitchen so much that I knew I had to use her recipe for these delightful little things.

Pumpkin Things 2012 36

Start by preheating your oven to 350°F and line a muffin tin with cupcake cups.  I made these pre-Hallowe’en so the festive liners are TOTALLY justified.

Pumpkin Things 2012 17

In one bowl, use a whisk to mix together 1 1/2 cups flour, 1 teaspoon baking powder, 1/2 teaspoon baking soda, 1/2 teaspoon salt, 1 1/4 cups granulated sugar, and 2 teaspoons pumpkin pie spice (I told you we were going to need it again soon!).

Pumpkin Things 2012 14

In yer other bowl, whisk together 1 cup pureed pumpkin (if you’re using a canned variety, make sure that it’s the pure stuff, not the stuff pre-mixed with spices), 2 eggs, and 1/3 cup vegetable oil.  I also added in 1 teaspoon vanilla.

Pumpkin Things 2012 15

Pumpkin Things 2012 16

Now pour your wet ingredients into your dry ingredients and use that same whisk again until it’s fully combined.  The whisk means that you can get all the ingredients all mixed in but you don’t have to worry about overmixing.

Pumpkin Things 2012 18

Spoon the batter into the muffin tin, so that each cup is about 3/4 full, and combine 1 tablespoon granulated sugar with 2 teaspoons cinnamon to sprinkle over top.

Pumpkin Things 2012 19

Bake until they are lovely and puffy and gold and a toothpick inserted in the centre of the centre muffin comes out clean, about 25-30 minutes.

Pumpkin Things 2012 28

Let those sit in the pan on a rack for about five minutes before you transfer them out of the pan and directly onto the rack.  Then you can go ahead and eat them.

Pumpkin Things 2012 30

I love mine with butter.

Pumpkin Things 2012 38

The Pie just loves them, period.

Pumpkin Things 2012 34

Especially that glorious crusty top.

Pumpkin Things 2012 32

Author: allythebell

A corgi. A small boy. A sense of adventure. Chaos ensues.

17 thoughts on “Pumpkin Muffins”

      1. Thanks! I’ll have a look online. Perhaps my daughters can bring me a selection at Christmas time. (I don’t live in the States.)

        Like

      2. I got them at the grocery store here in St. John’s so I figure if you can get them in Newfoundland, the backwoods of Canada, you can probably get them anywhere! 🙂

        Like

      3. If only! I’m in Cairo, Egypt where I haven’t seen a Wilton product yet, except in my own cupboards. I have all the cake decorating things in a handy toolbox but didn’t think to buy muffin cups.

        Like

Leave a comment