Oatmeal Chocolate Chunkies

Oatmeal Chocolate Chunkies 17 I made these to serve a double purpose: to provide cookies for the shindig last week (which was my parents’ 40th wedding anniversary), and also for the birthday of one of my coworkers – so I froze the dough for the birthday (which is tomorrow, yay!) and made the rest up for the party. I made these traditional oatmeal chocolate cookies with a little bit of a twist – the addition of some chipotle spice. It’s not excessive, but feel free to omit the spice if you wish. Oatmeal Chocolate Chunkies 16

Start by creaming together 1 cup butter, 1/2 cup brown sugar, and 1/2 cup granulated sugar until it’s all lovely and fluffy.

Oatmeal Chocolate Chunkies 1 Beat in 2 eggs and 2 teaspoons vanilla. Oatmeal Chocolate Chunkies 2

Now whisk together 2 cups flour, 1/2 teaspoons baking powder, 1 teaspoon cinnamon, and then — DRAMATIC PAUSE — 1/2 teaspoon chipotle powder.

Oatmeal Chocolate Chunkies 3 Oatmeal Chocolate Chunkies 4

Then mix in about 1 cup oats. If you want them more oaty and nubbly, then add in 2 cups total – that’s up to you. The more oats you add the more structure the cookie will have. I was looking for flat and crispy so I only put in the one.

Oatmeal Chocolate Chunkies 10 Chop up as well a large amount of chocolate. This worked out to about 2 cups chopped Belgian chocolate. Mmmm … Oatmeal Chocolate Chunkies 8

Now chuck the dough in the fridge for a little bit to chill so it’s easier to manipulate. Preheat your oven to 350°F and line some baking sheets with parchment. Plop rolled teaspoons of the dough onto your baking sheet and spread them out as they will flatten and expand while baking. I put them too close in these pictures so act accordingly.

Oatmeal Chocolate Chunkies 12 Bake the cookies for about 10 minutes, rotating the baking sheets halfway through, until the centres are set. Let the cookies cool on the rack for about five minutes before putting them on a wire rack to cool completely. Enjoy! Oatmeal Chocolate Chunkies 14

Author: allythebell

A corgi. A small boy. A sense of adventure. Chaos ensues.

12 thoughts on “Oatmeal Chocolate Chunkies”

  1. Just shared on my Facebook! Unfortunately, I cannot make them for my family. My two year old is allergic to oatmeal. (I love oatmeal cookies, so this is kind of a bummer!) But they look delicious, and the addition of chipotle makes them sound even better! Thanks for the recipe!

    Like

Leave a comment