Wingin’ It Wednesday: Moose and Mushroom Stew

Wingin' It Wednesday: Moose and Mushroom Stew

I’m not sure if I’ll ever really get used to the concept of eating moose.  But when in Newfoundland …

This is a roast from Fussellette’s dad, and I followed her instructions as to what to do for the basics of the whole thing.  The rest was sheer fly-by-the-seat-of-my-pants moose stew madness.

Wingin' It Wednesday: Moose and Mushroom Stew

So you plop the roast into your slow cooker.  Then you add your vegetables, like an onion, and/or some potatoes. I had some rather sad-looking broccoli and cauliflower in the fridge, so that went in with an onion. Then you add in a package of dried onion soup.  I’m not usually one to add pre-made mixes to things, but these were my instructions.

Wingin' It Wednesday: Moose and Mushroom Stew

Then we need some fluid.  You could add in chicken broth.  Or beef broth.

Wingin' It Wednesday: Moose and Mushroom Stew

But I had some mushroom broth in the fridge so I used that.

Wingin' It Wednesday: Moose and Mushroom Stew

Which meant that I felt obligated to use some dried mushrooms as well.

Wingin' It Wednesday: Moose and Mushroom Stew

I turned it to high and left it for a while.  Later on, I added some frozen green and yellow beans and some wild rice.

And near the end a sprinkle of Bell’s Seasoning. I know it’s for chicken and fish but it’s got my name on it and I couldn’t help myself.

Wingin' It Wednesday: Moose and Mushroom Stew

Eventually the meat is done and you gotta pull it out and tear it off the bone before chucking it back in the stew. It won’t be difficult.

Wingin' It Wednesday: Moose and Mushroom Stew

Your dog can help.

Wingin' It Wednesday: Moose and Mushroom Stew

And there you have it — moose and mushroom stew. Served with toast.

Wingin' It Wednesday: Moose and Mushroom Stew

Author: allythebell

A corgi. A small boy. A sense of adventure. Chaos ensues.

4 thoughts on “Wingin’ It Wednesday: Moose and Mushroom Stew”

Leave a Reply

