Wingin’ it Wednesday: Roasted Chicken and Veg for Two

One Dish Roast Chicken for Two 12

Sometimes you want all the comfort and rustic homeyness of a roasted chicken and crackling roasted vegetables, but you don’t have the time or the inclination to go through all the bother.  In our case, we also don’t have enough people in the house at the moment to eat a whole chicken.  So here is my solution.

One Dish Roast Chicken for Two 5

Take a small roasting pan and a handful of vegetables you’d like to roast.  Here I have half a large onion, several small white potatoes, and a head of broccoli.

One Dish Roast Chicken for Two 1

I tossed those in olive oil and seasoned them with salt, pepper, fresh rosemary, and Newfoundland savoury (thanks Fussellette!).

One Dish Roast Chicken for Two 2

On top of that, I set 2 large bone-in chicken breasts.  Bone-in roasts better than bone-out, trust me. In a small bowl I mixed together salt, pepper, Old Bay seasoning, and some dry mustard.

One Dish Roast Chicken for Two 6

Then I added a little lemon juice to it to turn it into a paste.

One Dish Roast Chicken for Two 7

This paste I brushed on top of the chicken breasts.

One Dish Roast Chicken for Two 9

Then I roasted everything (in my toaster oven, no less) at 400°F for about 30 minutes, stirring the vegetables occasionally, until the chicken was cooked through and the juices ran clear.  I served it with some Vidalia onion relish that really helped to pick up the flavours. Yum.  Rustic comfort food for two!

One Dish Roast Chicken for Two 10

Author: allythebell

A corgi. A small boy. A sense of adventure. Chaos ensues.

3 thoughts on “Wingin’ it Wednesday: Roasted Chicken and Veg for Two”

  1. Looks DELICIOUS! I’ll do something similar for my family of 4, but I’ll use a whole chicken that I cut in half. It cooks in just a fraction of the time, and the chicken shares its flavors with the veggies and vice versa.

    Like

Leave a comment