Par’hridgeberry Ice Cream

Partridgeberry Ice Cream 13

Whilst cleaning out the freezer the other day, I noticed I still had about a cup of frozen partridgeberries from an age ago waiting to be used.  And seeing as I had a carton of whipping cream in the fridge and I hadn’t yet packed my ice cream maker, my next step just made sense: ICE CREAM!

I love home-made ice cream because of its simplicity.  This recipe has five ingredients and they are all awesome.

Partridgeberry Ice Cream 1

Start with your partridgeberries, or, if you’re from the Rock, you’re gonna call them “par’hridgeberries” (because “t” doesn’t really exist here).  I had about 1 cup frozen partridgeberries*, to which I added 1 cup frozen blueberries.

Partridgeberry Ice Cream 2

Chuck those in a pot with 1-2 cups granulated sugar (your preference as to how sweet you want it to be, but you also want enough sugar that the resulting sauce is thick and gooey). Heat your berries until thawed and juicy, then bring them to a boil quickly and remove them from the heat.  Let them cool for a bit.

Partridgeberry Ice Cream 3

In a bowl, dump 2 cups whipping cream and a hefty dollop of vanilla extract.

Partridgeberry Ice Cream 5

Stir in your cooled berry sauce, then cover the bowl and chuck it in the fridge overnight.

Partridgeberry Ice Cream 7

While you’re at it, make sure to freeze the interior liner of your ice cream maker, if you have a non-electric one.

Partridgeberry Ice Cream 9

On day two, pour your berry goo into your ice cream maker and have at ‘er according to your machine’s instructions.

Partridgeberry Ice Cream 10

Chuck your newly minted ice cream into the freezer until completely solid, and then serve!

Partridgeberry Ice Cream 11

I love the purple/blue/red colour combination here, as well as the sweetness of the blueberries contrasted with the tartness of the partridgeberries.  We served this as a side dish to the Pie’s birthday cake.

Partridgeberry Ice Cream 15

*If you can’t find partridgeberries in your geographical area, they might be called lingonberries or cowberries, or some other wacky local name.

Author: allythebell

A corgi. A small boy. A sense of adventure. Chaos ensues.

4 thoughts on “Par’hridgeberry Ice Cream”

  1. Yum! Sadly, we don’t have partridgeberries yet in my area of Australia or Japan, so I’ll just have to think of some other tart fruit (maybe one of the lantern gooseberry varieties would fill the bill….)

    I’ve been promising myself an icecream maker as soon as I get back to Oz! Anything in particular I should look for?

    Like

    1. I’m sure you could swing it with some kind of gooseberry, as long as you pair it with something sweet!

      Donvier seems to be the brand of choice here in North America so if you can get one of those you’re gold. If not, go for something where you freeze the core and then use a non-electric hand-crank to turn it. With mine I only need to give it a few twists once every five minutes or so, and it’s never broken, unlike some electric versions I’ve had before where I had to deal with salt and water and ice cubes … much less mess!

      Like

      1. Thank you, that is EXACTLY the sort of advice I was looking for. That sounds pretty energy efficient, too.

        Like

      2. It definitely is, and the hand-powered machines are usually smaller so they’re easier to store as well. Good luck, and let me know what you find!

        Like

Leave a comment