Modding the Mom Hat

MomHat 8

I hope you all enjoyed your Canada Day/Independence Day long weekend! And if you didn’t get to celebrate a national holiday this weekend then I hope at least it was sunny where you were. Speaking of sun, I bought this hat at IKEA last summer for 99 cents. It is great to wear to baseball games to protect my pasty white skin.

MomHat 2

Now I’ve discovered that it’s also a fantastic wearable parasol for LongJohn (so named because he’s a lanky albatross like his dad) when I’m wearing him out and about.

MomHat 1

The problem is that in a good breeze the parasol becomes a parasail and I lose the darned thing. It’s very hard to chase down a hat while wearing a baby. So I need to make some modifications to keep the thing on my head, and while I do that, I might as well have some fun with it, right? With that in mind, I dug out a huge pink grosgrain ribbon.

MomHat 3

I cut it to match the band around the hat. I set that aside for the moment.

MomHat 4

Then I took two more pieces and wove them into the inside of the band, for straps to tie coquettishly around my chin. I felt very much like a Jane Austen character, dressing a bonnet, while I was doing this.

MomHat 5

Tied off the ends to prevent fraying.

MomHat 6

And then decided I needed a feather in my cap.

MomHat 7

And because it was Pride Week in Toronto (Ottawa’s isn’t until August and it’s much more low key), I decided to put a rainbow of feathers in my cap.

MomHat 9

I wound them together with some wire.

MomHat 10

Used a bit of hot glue to ensure they stayed that way.

MomHat 11

Then wove the wire end into the hat to fix the feathers in place.

MomHat 12

And I managed to do all of this while still wearing LongJohn.

MomHat 13

Then I glued the first piece of ribbon around the band, leaving room for the hat to expand as it gets squashed on my head.

MomHat 14

And I took another piece of grosgrain, this one in black, and fashioned a rosette out of it.

MomHat 15

The rosette fit nicely on top of the feathers, hiding the wire machinations.

MomHat 21

Tada, my Mom Hat that I can wear with Pride!

MomHat 17

Author: allythebell

A corgi. A small boy. A sense of adventure. Chaos ensues.

4 thoughts on “Modding the Mom Hat”

Leave a Reply

