Ali Asks: A Temporary Re-Vamp?

Look! I finally did it! Up until Easter Sunday this room was still just full of boxes, but I finally sat down and cleaned everything up and put things away and unpacked. For some reason I’m missing the legs that go on the two sets of wire shelves I normally use, and we’re going to put another table in here to serve as a workstation (and add some pegboards and other things), so it’s still a work in progress.

Closet Door 3

But in the meantime, it’s BEIGE. And as I’m sure you’ve seen me mention before, beige is my creative equivalent of a soul-sucking straw – I can’t deal with it. We’re going to completely gut this room sometime in the next few years – have the asbestos removed and lower the floor to the same height as everything else on this level (and install a heated floor!). But until then, there’s no point in trying to gussy it up too much. And yet … BEIGE. It might be some time before we get around to this room, what with our impending chaos. I don’t want to go crazy in the interim.

Closet Door 2

So I was thinking, with regards to this bifold closet with slats (now, with EXTRA vintage!), that I could jazz them up a bit. They’re what you see when you walk in the door, so I thought they could be a bit more eye-catching. I was thinking of doing a simpler version of what I did with the coffee stirrer wall art and that wooden tray – of course, painting the slats as if they were the little wooden pieces. I’m just going to use craft paint but it’ll be a fun rainy day project.

Closet Door 1

What do you think? Should I go for it?

And if so, what colours should I use? Leave your comments with your favourite colour scheme!

Author: allythebell

A corgi. A small boy. A sense of adventure. Chaos ensues.

11 thoughts on “Ali Asks: A Temporary Re-Vamp?”

  1. Soul-sucking beige – I have never heard it more perfectly stated. Anything beige or brown depresses me instantly, I am not sure why. I can deal with dark colors, bright colors, light colors, and all white rooms. But put an ounce of beige or brown in and it looks awful to me! And sadly, I have brown chairs in the living room and a tan loveseat in the guest room. No wonder I am always rearranging the furniture to make the room look right, huh? It won’t until I lose those chairs and recover the loveseat. 🙂

    Like

      1. argh, if I did that our whole house would be black, brown and orange – NOT my colors. 🙂 Better to toss a sheet or two over everything, they wash up easily. 🙂

        Like

  2. No idea. But I think you should chalkboard paint that shit out of that fridge. Any paint plus sand less grout = chalkboard paint. Did a whole wall in my kitchen and it has lasted years.

    Like

    1. To be honest, I’m really not a fan of chalkboard paint – and the resulting chalk dust everywhere. It brings back all the crap memories from elementary school, being forced to clean out the brushes at the end of the day.

      Right now that fridge isn’t even plugged in – I’m just sticking spare bits of adhesive vinyl to it when I have little pieces and I’ll figure out if I need to keep it at some point …

      Like

    1. My main issue is that there’s not a whole lot of natural light coming into this particular room and I worry that bright colours would look garish when always lit by electric lighting. What do you think?

      Like

Leave a Reply

