Coconut Cream Bars: REDUX

Coconut Bars Redux 10

The problem with this blog is that people I work with READ it. And then they EXPECT me to bring them baked goods. And then when I DO, they demand MORE. So sometimes I have to make things AGAIN. So these I’ve made before, and they were awesome. And I brought some to work. And one of the ladies I work with send me a calendar invitation for her birthday (which was MONTHS away) with instructions for me to make these for her (again). And so that’s what I did. I tweaked the recipe a little bit to add some more flavour, and I think I like them better than the originals. Conveniently they’re also Papa John’s favourite and his birthday is coming up …

Line a 9″ x 13″ pan with waxed paper and spray it as well. Set that aside. In a large bowl, dump in 20oz shredded unsweetened coconut, and 14oz sweetened condensed milk. I like to stand there and stare while the milk ever-so-slowly comes out of the can.

Coconut Bars Redux 1

Coconut Bars Redux 2

Now here’s where I changed things up a little bit. I have some genuine Caribbean coconut extract that I added in for more flavour (I tipped in about 2 teaspoons) and then I decided to add a hint of orange by pouring in about 2 tablespoons Cointreau. I recommend doing it just for the subtlety of the flavour over the straight sugar taste you got before with the original recipe.

Coconut Bars Redux 3

I was actually amazed at how thick the coconut extract was – it was more of a syrup.

Coconut Bars Redux 4

Anyway, stir that up, together with 2 cups icing sugar, until you have a lovely gooey coconutty paste.

Coconut Bars Redux 5

Smooth that into your baking panΒ and level the top. Freeze that for a couple hours.

Coconut Bars Redux 6

When you’re nearly ready to go, melt up about 24oz chocolate of your choice – I used half dark, half milk in this batch. It’s also useful to do the chocolate in a couple of batches, adding more unmelted stuff to the mix as you run out.

Coconut Bars Redux 7

Let that cool a bit, and slice up your coconut goo into squares.

Coconut Bars Redux 8

Then start dipping! Remember that the cooler your chocolate is, the faster it will set, so act accordingly. Sprinkle the tops of each bar with more bits of coconut before the chocolate sets – for decoration.

Coconut Bars Redux 9

My chocolate was cooler (because it’s February and this is Canada) than last time so it set a little messier and less smooth than the previous version, but they’re still super tasty!

Coconut Bars Redux 11

Author: allythebell

A corgi. A small boy. A sense of adventure. Chaos ensues.

14 thoughts on “Coconut Cream Bars: REDUX”

  1. I’m the birthday cake maker, it all started with me making my own birthday cake and then the request quickly started..haha I always loved how the boss get’s to be one of us when there was cake in the break room…who knew a boss could be funny!
    You bring in food and you become the popular girl!..lol I love how co-workers talk about their “Mama’s” cooking, if she only could hear the love.:)

    Like

    1. Bosses are always funny when there is food involved. πŸ™‚

      Fortunately my baking skills have enabled me to make contact with people I don’t normally work with (like this particular birthday girl is not on my team at all), so it’s nice to have a sort of social lubricant around the organization.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

