Fast Tip Friday: One Room at a Time

I promise we’ll be returning to regularly scheduled programming soon. I’m sure that you’re getting a little tired of seeing my messy house so I’m going to try to change things up a little bit. But in order to do that I need to do things like this. My entranceway for the past week has been the place where we drop all the random bags and boxes we’re still bringing over from the Tower, and we haven’t really had much opportunity to deal with it. So when you walk into the house your first impression is one of utter chaos.

DSCN9084

Organizing your home can seem overwhelming at first, especially if like me you have just moved and you’re dealing with a whole lot of extra space and no idea what to do with it all. It’s hard to know where to start, so it’s easy to get distracted: you move something into another room, realize that something in that room needs to be organized/put away/cleaned/moved elsewhere, and then it just snowballs and after a few hours you’re exhausted and you realize you’ve accomplished NOTHING.

DSCN9086
For instance, there is no need for a large stand mixer to sit in my front hall.

So my trick is to take it one room at a time. First, you take the things that don’t belong in that room and put them elsewhere. Not just any elsewhere, mind you: put them in the room where they belong, and, if it’s something you can do quickly, put them away where they should go. If it’s not a quick job, just stash the whatever-it-is in the room where it should be and go back to the room you’re working on. You can deal with putting the whatever-it-is away properly when you finish what you’re doing and move to a new room.

Before you know it, the room will be empty of all that does not belong and you can now find space for all the things that DO belong.

DSCN9088

This is not the final form for this entrance way by any means: this is our old kitchen table and I don’t know what I’m going to do with any of these things. But now the space is clear and looks a little bit more like an entranceway should. It’s still a work in progress, but now that I’ve done this room I can move on to another, and then another, until finally the whole place is done. One down, several more to go …

DSCN9090

Author: allythebell

A corgi. A small boy. A sense of adventure. Chaos ensues.

14 thoughts on “Fast Tip Friday: One Room at a Time”

  1. πŸ™‚ progress is progress, even when it’s not immediately obvious for outsiders. Having said that, it looks like you’re doing really well πŸ™‚

    Keep it up!

    Like

  2. Just started redecorating my Tiny House!! Oh my gosh! Been lots of fun, lots of money, and lots of hair pulling. We are renting and the house came fully furnished. (Looking for my own house still!! Planning on our own move hopefully by May!!) One room at a time is the best advice I can think of! Soooo TRUE!!

    Like

  3. This is a really good tip! I have to ask, though; If you are the one who moves the things, are you forever the one who knows where the things are? I’m kinda thinking this might be why our menfolk can’t find anything even with specific verbal instruction as to the thing’s location…

    Like

  4. I clean up the same way..it’s so much easier when you focus on one room at a time! I also try to pick up a little here and there throughout the week so that way I don’t have such a huge mess to get to later on!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

