Welcome to our chaos

I wish I had a better post for you guys today, but we’re totally exhausted at our new place. We kind of moved all the furniture over in a rush on Saturday so we’re still trying to figure out what is going where. We know we’re missing some essential pieces now but we’re willing to live without until we figure out what we really want.

DSCN9059

The kitchen is still a hot mess. I mostly just shoved things in random cupboards all weekend while directing people where to put things. The Pie and I figure we’ll wait a couple weeks until we’re less tired and actually give some thought as to where we want things to go.

DSCN9065

Because I was mostly directing from the kitchen, our dear moving crew, when told things were to go in the basement, basically shoved absolutely everything into my office. So it’s a little impassable at the moment, and my computer is currently set up at the dining room table.

DSCN9074

Things that we didn’t immediately have a place for are in the future baby’s room.

DSCN9067

The guest room is half-assembled because I don’t want to put it together until I’ve painted it (it’s going to be green!).

DSCN9072

But the living room *kind* of is useful at the moment (i.e. there’s a couch, a coffee table, and the TV is hooked up to the internet).

DSCN9064

Gren is settling in fine, I think. We gave him some fancy drugs our vet gave us on moving day and those helped his anxiety a whole bunch (as did a Kong full of frozen peanut butter). He’s still prone to sulking in weird spots.

DSCN9066

And he and I are having trouble with these super steep back stairs. We’re going to see if we can’t lessen the slope by adding an extra one at the bottom at some point soon.

DSCN9076

But the Pie has started to figure out where things are going to go in the room the previous owners called “The Cave” (it was on an envelope filled with paint chips).

DSCN9075

And I can already see myself sitting in my favourite chair with my feet up in front of this fireplace. I’m looking forward to it!

DSCN9078

Author: allythebell

A corgi. A small boy. A sense of adventure. Chaos ensues.

21 thoughts on “Welcome to our chaos”

  1. Considering how little time you’ve been there, it’s looking great! I love empty new houses – so much scope for playing with ideas 🙂 Have fun – enjoy the chaos while it’s there! 😉

    Like

  2. I love the setting up part of moving into a new place. Granted, not fun to do when you’re exhausted AND PREGNANT. But like… still fun! I love the progress shots anyway, so I’m more than happy to have multiple posts from you like this. 🙂

    I can’t believe the guest room is ending up green. I’m quite pleased about this. 😀

    I’m also so, so envious of all the snow you have. We’ve got buttfuck all here and I’m so sad about it. I miss the fluffy snowy-white Ottawa winters!

    Like

Leave a Reply

