Apricot Oatmeal Loaf

Apricot Oatmeal Loaf 10

I’m always looking for new ways to put more fibre into my baking that don’t necessarily involve bran (I feel like that sentence alone puts me in the “grown-up” category.  And you know what’s good for you if you’re not getting enough fibre? APRICOTS. So I made an apricot loaf. And if you like apricots you can make one too.

Apricot Oatmeal Loaf 1

Preheat your oven to 350°F and spray or butter a loaf pan in preparation. In a medium-sized bowl, whisk together 1 1/2 cups flour, 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder, 1/2 teaspoon baking soda, and 1/2 cup granulated sugar. I don’t even have a picture of it because it’s just a bowl of white (and because maybe I forgot). Sprinkle in 1 teaspoon cinnamon and 1 teaspoon nutmeg for colour (and flavour).

Apricot Oatmeal Loaf 3
Because I forgot, you get a slightly more interesting picture of chopped apricots instead.

In a small bowl, scramble together 2 large eggs.

Apricot Oatmeal Loaf 4

Then tip in 1/2 cup melted butter, 1/2 cup plain yogurt (or fruity yogurt, maybe apricot yogurt, it’s up to you), 1/3-1/2 cup apricot jam, and 1/2 cup milk.

Apricot Oatmeal Loaf 5

Pour that wet stuff into the dry stuff and stir until combined. Then pour in 1 cup oats and 3/4 cup chopped dried apricots. Stir stir stir!

Apricot Oatmeal Loaf 7

Smooth that into your pan and then bake for about 1 hour, until a deep caramel brown and a toothpick inserted in the centre comes out clean. Let it mostly cool in the pan and tip it out onto a rack to cool completely.

Apricot Oatmeal Loaf 8

I’m really enjoying it toasted, with butter, for breakfast.

Apricot Oatmeal Loaf 12

Author: allythebell

A corgi. A small boy. A sense of adventure. Chaos ensues.

5 thoughts on “Apricot Oatmeal Loaf”

    1. I have used coconut flour in the past – I do find it makes for a much more dense loaf, however, and it retains moisture so much that in my house if I leave it for more than a day it tends to grow mould. It’s more of a summer cooking staple for me!

      Like

Leave a Reply

