Scented Pine Cones

Pine Cones 003

October hit Ottawa with a sudden drop in temperature and we were forced to turn the heat on for the first time this year, which made me sad. I don’t like the way a sealed-in house gets musty over the summer or winter, and with our massive piles of sad-looking carpet (which, no matter how much I steam clean it, still retains essence of smoker and large smelly dog, the previous tenants), our house gets musty – fast.

I’m not a huge fan of artificial perfumes or masking smells with other smells, but sometimes my cleaning regime needs a bit of a boost. I picked up these pine cones while walking Gren out on the Farm. You’ll note the dog poop bag I used to haul them home. This is often how I bring home my dog-walking finds.

Pinecone Potpourri 2

Wash them carefully in warm water to get rid of dirt and bugs and whatnot.

Pinecone Potpourri 3

Look at the fun colour they turned the water! Tannins are an interesting scientific thing.

Pinecone Potpourri 4

Shake them off and lay them on a baking sheet (if you like the baking sheet, line it with parchment paper to prevent any sap from sticking) and bake them for 1 hour at about 200°F so that they can dry out completely. Wet pine cones = mouldy pine cones, and we don’t want that.

Pinecone Potpourri 6

While that was going on, I quickly zested a lemon and an orange that had seen better days and tossed the peel into the oven as well to dry out. Waste not!

Pinecone Potpourri 7

When the pine cones are fully cooled, sprinkle them liberally with the essential oils of your choice. I went with clove and orange oils.

Pinecone Potpourri 8

Seal them (and any other scented objects you have, like the peel) in a plastic bag for 1 week to meld the scents together.

Pinecone Potpourri 9

Then display in a nice bowl and give them a good sniff as you walk by.

Pine Cones 004

Author: allythebell

A corgi. A small boy. A sense of adventure. Chaos ensues.

9 thoughts on “Scented Pine Cones”

  1. I’m so doing that. My parents live in Ottawa and they love it, but yes, they did mention the drop in temps. I love scented pine cones, but they can be pricey. Thanks so much.

    Like

Leave a Reply

