So I went to Atlanta in August

20150819_082818

Part of my job entails traveling around Canada and the United States to teach people how to use the custom software we make. I’m usually gone at least one week a month, sometimes two. Most of the time I end up in Toronto, for some reason (and other than hanging out with my squishee Chel I’m not a huge fan of the city). Or I end up in places that would be nice if I weren’t there at that particular time. Like when I went to Winnipeg. In February.

20150817_165826

Or Atlanta, in August. If you follow me on instagram you may have seen a daily photo diary I posted while I was there, but I thought I’d fill you in a bit more on the trip. If I’m traveling more, then I can’t be cooking and crafting so you’ll just have to get me as tour guide instead sometimes. 20150819_081822 Anyway, I went to Atlanta in the last week of August. I thought about posting this back then but I got busy and you know how stuff like this happens …

20150818_082619

If you’re not used to southern American climates, I wouldn’t recommend going to Atlanta in August. Every day I was there, it was 100% humidity with lows of about 29°C and highs of 35°C. I spent much of my day sweating while traveling between air-conditioned locations. And every night it rained. Like, FLOODED. I had to learn how to un-soak my shoes with my hotel hairdryer. Every night.

20150817_185540

But Atlanta (at least, the downtown area where I stayed), is a very interesting city. To give you a bit of background, all the architecture within the central city limits is all new. Atlanta, a railroad town, was invaded during the American Civil War in 1864 and they burned down EVERYTHING. So Atlantans don’t have a huge attachment to historical architecture, and the modernistic style that has taken over much of the downtown core makes me feel a little bit like I’m walking through some dystopian film set. I was working in the Capital Hill area so most of the buildings I passed every day looked like this.

Atlanta 2015

Atlanta 2015

I would hang out with Jimmy Carter in the mornings and check my email before going to work.

Atlanta 2015

I never notice all the big grandstanding touristy things. The stuff I notice when I travel is all little. Like this tiny mosaic embedded in a sidewalk.

20150819_080949

And the fact that all the shrubbery is holly. ALL OF IT. I’m used to just seeing this stuff at Christmas.

20150820_083839(0)

This 9/11 tribute really struck me.

20150820_121823

I went to the Georgia Aquarium as well. I did think that some of the tanks looked a little small for the size and amount of animals in them, but the displays were cool.

20150817_180012

AND THEY HAVE WHALE SHARKS.

20150817_182110

You can also go behind the scenes and see how everything is maintained.

20150817_183329

When I left the aquarium it was absolutely pouring rain. Of course.

20150817_184702

I also visited the Coca-Cola Museum, which is neat. Coke was born in Atlanta, and you can learn all about the history of it in the place. You also get to sample Coke products from all over the world.

20150819_162615

20150819_171123

20150819_171208

And the gift shop is a little nuts.

20150819_172128

Of course when I left it was pouring rain. If you’re planning to do more than one touristy thing in Atlanta (I would have but I ran out of time), then I would recommend getting a CityPass. These attractions are expensive and this will save you a bit of cash.

20150817_185658(0)

I also popped into Twin Smokers BBQ and had the absolute best bourbon milkshake of my life. I highly recommend. Plus they give you a carousel of the barbecue sauces of your choice.

20150817_171714

Everyone was so nice. I gave directions to another lady visiting the city (thank you Google Maps) and dinner recommendations to a Floridian tourist. At one point I was walking down the sketchy part of Peachtree on my way to work and I stopped to answer a text message. One of the habitants of the street asked me if I was okay and if I needed help, simply because I’d stopped walking. Even the rampant homeless population was nothing but cordial.

Atlanta 2015

Thanks for a great visit Atlanta!

20150820_153048

Author: allythebell

A corgi. A small boy. A sense of adventure. Chaos ensues.

10 thoughts on “So I went to Atlanta in August”

  1. I love how you go to places that are none for extreme temperatures during the worst time of the year. I can’t even imagine Winnipeg in February. DEAR GOD.

    I also had no idea it rained that much in Atlanta. Holy.

    Like

  2. You did pick a bad time to be down there – August is usually not so great. I do like the winters, though – similar to autumn in Canada and it is quite entertaining watching the locals panic and run amok when they get three centimeters of snow 🙂

    Oddly enough, of all the time I’ve spent in the Atlanta area I’ve only spent two days in the the city proper though I have spent lots of time spent in Canton, Cumming, Milton, and Alpharetta. Someday I’ll get to explore Atlanta; I would like at the very least to visit the Aquarium and the wife would like to see the Botanical Gardens.

    Looks as though I’m transferring there in the Spring *knock on wood*. The odd thing is that I now have more friends in the Atlanta area than I do back in Ontario.

    Take care,

    Ted

    Like

Leave a Reply

