Ali Asks: What to do with old Business Cards?

20150616_114839

Maybe this has happened to you: you order a set of business cards and you get a whole box, like 250 or 500. And before you can use them all, your phone number changes, or your address, or your title. This has happened to me twice since I started at this job. The first time, my title changed, and then the second time, we re-branded and now we have a different logo.

20150616_114814

So now I have a whole bunch of business cards and I don’t know what to do with them. I know I can chuck them in the recycling, but that’s unoriginal and still a little wasteful. So I’ve been looking online to see the sorts of things you can do with business cards you don’t need anymore. Unfortunately, most of them seem to involve using the blank side to do something – but my cards are double-sided so that’s not an option. They’re also not very good to fold into origami as the edges fray almost instantly. Anyone got any ideas?

20150616_114835

Author: allythebell

A corgi. A small boy. A sense of adventure. Chaos ensues.

22 thoughts on “Ali Asks: What to do with old Business Cards?”

  1. Could you use them like those who use free paint chips from the store? Maybe painting them somehow in various colors and using them as garland, educational cards, framed decor, etc.? I don’t know if there are parts which wouldn’t soak up paint, like raised, shiny parts. I dunno but, it will be cool to see what you come up with! I agree about confetti too 🙂

    Liked by 3 people

  2. I use them (sometimes) to prevent my mascara from travelling to my lids as I apply it. I’m messy like that and I get the excess on the card instead of on my lids!

    Like

  3. You could use them to make templates for a hand sewn patchwork quilt.

    Or roll them into little tubes to plant tiny seeds in

    Or paint them with chalkboard paint and stick them on everything!

    That’s all I can think of for now

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’ve got an idea that you can borrow, but you’ll have to wait till I post it… Is there a way of tagging in wordpress? Cannot believe I am asking this now after years of wordpressing

    Like

Leave a Reply

