Five-Minute Frittata, for Two

This is my favourite quick dinner when you want something a little bit better than a cold bowl of cereal but you want to apply pretty much the same level of effort. This dish serves two but I was so hungry after all my efforts in the garden that I ate the whole thing myself.

Five-Minute Frittata 18

First I grabbed some fresh herbs out of said garden. Then I preheated my oven to broil and grabbed an oven-safe nonstick skillet. Nonstick works best for this particular eggy dish, but you have to make sure that it has been approved for use in the oven so you don’t end up killing yourself with chemicals or burning the handle off.

Five-Minute Frittata 1

I chopped up the herbs.

Five-Minute Frittata 2

Then I grabbed a tomato and chopped and de-seeded it as well.

Five-Minute Frittata 3

Now you can start heating up your skillet, with a nice big pat of butter in it to melt.

Five-Minute Frittata 6

Then I cracked 4 eggs into a bowl. I proceeded to beat the crap out of them.

Five-Minute Frittata 4

Add in a big dollop of sour cream. You can use milk or cream but I have recently discovered that sour cream in eggs makes them light and fluffy and flavourful so I like using it.

Five-Minute Frittata 5

Then I poured the mixed eggs into the hot skillet.

Five-Minute Frittata 7

Let that sit for a moment.

Five-Minute Frittata 8

Then start pulling the egg away from the bottom of the skillet. You’re not really stirring the egg, so much as exposing more of the raw stuff to a hot cooking surface.

Five-Minute Frittata 9

Stop scraping before all the wet stuff is scrambled.

Five-Minute Frittata 10

Now you can top it with all the goodness you’ve prepared. This is salt, pepper, chopped herbs, tomatoes, and parmesan cheese.

Five-Minute Frittata 11

And then go ahead and shove it under the broiler for about two minutes, until all the wet egg is now solid. Please don’t judge me for my dirty oven.

Five-Minute Frittata 12

You can see I actually overdid this one a little bit.

Five-Minute Frittata 13

Then you hold the pan over a plate and start to slowly tip it so the whole thing starts to slide out.

Five-Minute Frittata 14

Keeeeeep sliding.

Five-Minute Frittata 15

When you’re about halfway out, lift the pan so that the second half of the egg flips over and covers the first half.

Five-Minute Frittata 16

Top with more pepper and garnish if you like.

Five-Minute Frittata 17

As I said, you can cut this in two and share it. Or if you’re really hungry it makes a great meal for one!

Five-Minute Frittata 22

Author: allythebell

A corgi. A small boy. A sense of adventure. Chaos ensues.

10 thoughts on “Five-Minute Frittata, for Two”

  1. For us this is a french omelette. you can leave only eggs, or fill it with cheese, jam, tuna, parlsey and garlic, etc. We never use butter to cook, just a few drops of olive oil, or nothing onto a teflon pan, we cook this on the gas, no oven needed. Children love it, generally it goes into two pieces of bread as a sandwich. This yours looks sooo tasty!! This is also, the base to cook the “tortilla de patata” šŸ˜‰

    Like

Leave a Reply

