Chipotle Beans (and Rice!)

Chipotle Beans and Rice 12

This probably should be a Wingin’ it Wednesday kind of post but it’s so good I simply can’t wait that long. This came out of the fact that I had been remiss in cleaning our refrigerator and there were some sad looking contents that really needed to be dealt with.

It also makes for a super quick dinner because most of the ingredients just need to be heated up and then you’re set.

Start by cooking up (or heating up) some rice. I’m using brown rice here because that’s the sum total of rice I had in my house but you can use whatever you want.

Chipotle Beans and Rice 1

Then I chopped some stuff: onions, green onions

Chipotle Beans and Rice 2

Some cold Italian sausages we’d barbecued the night before …

Chipotle Beans and Rice 3

And some very sorry-looking tomatoes.

Chipotle Beans and Rice 4

Then I drained and rinsed a can of black beans. You can use any kind of bean you like – just make sure they’re not dried or that would taste bad.

Chipotle Beans and Rice 5

Then I heated up some oil and butter in my big cast iron skillet and cooked the onions until they were translucent and smelled amazing.

Chipotle Beans and Rice 6

Added in some garlic and the beans and gave that a stir.

Chipotle Beans and Rice 7

Then I chucked in the rest of the stuff.

Chipotle Beans and Rice 8

Added a wee sprinkling of ground chipotle.

Chipotle Beans and Rice 9

And a few dollops of sweet salsa (this stuff has mangos in it and I love it).

Chipotle Beans and Rice 10

Then I stirred it all around until everything was soft and amazing.

Chipotle Beans and Rice 11

And then served it over rice with a dollop of sour cream.

Chipotle Beans and Rice 13

The cilantro garnish is growing on my table. I hope it will flourish in the backyard once it gets warmer.

Chipotle Beans and Rice 16

This was so good I don’t want to wait until I clean the fridge again to make it once more!

Chipotle Beans and Rice 15

Author: allythebell

A corgi. A small boy. A sense of adventure. Chaos ensues.

7 thoughts on “Chipotle Beans (and Rice!)”

  1. Hi there, Ali… Great post and I too love what can come out of my fridge as a brand new dish to enjoy.. this looks very yummy indeed…

    Take care and happy fridge hunting, from Laura 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

