Slouchy Bowl

Check out this bowl I made. It’s got a definite slouch to it.

Slouchy Bowl 5

Half-slouch.

Slouchy Bowl 6

Full slouch.

Slouchy Bowl 7

My mother had given me a wad of the squishy rope you put inside piping when you are upholstering things. It’s essentially a wad of unbleached cotton loosely held together with a bit of white thread. I didn’t know what to do with it (me? upholster? you gotta be kidding.), so I made this bowl. You could also make this out of any form of cable or rope. You just need a needle, thread, and a pair of scissors to cut the thread (or your teeth if you’re hardcore).

Slouchy Bowl 1

All I did was coil the rope around itself and start sewing it together. You can use any stitch you want, any kind of thread. I used green so you could see it but it wasn’t too flashy.

Slouchy Bowl 4

You can change the width of the bowl by sewing the rope together at different angles. It’s hard to explain but you would see what I mean if you were doing it. It just kind of comes naturally. I made this little divot to come up through the centre to provide stability for the bowl.

Slouchy Bowl 2

When you flip it right side up at the early stages you have a wee sombrero.

Slouchy Bowl 3

Then I just kept going until I was happy with it and I ran out of rope. You can store whatever you want in it, provided it’s not liquid (it’s not that kind of bowl). Y’know, if you need a place for your copper-coloured pine cones.

Slouchy Bowl 8

Or your sunglasses.  It’s up to you!

Slouchy Bowl 11

Author: allythebell

A corgi. A small boy. A sense of adventure. Chaos ensues.

1 thought on “Slouchy Bowl”

Leave a Reply

