A Magic Christmas Eve

Happy Christmas Eve everyone! I wish you all the best and the happiest of the holiday season.

Wands 17

Everybody knows one. There’s at least one in every family. Sometimes there are several.

Wands 19

I’m talking about Harry Potter fans. Yes, those people.

Wands 23

I found this amazing tutorial on DeviantArt to make Harry Potter-inspired wands a couple years ago and I’ve been saving it for that special someone in my family.

Items you will most def need: chopsticks. I have six of the normal kind you get in fast food restaurants, and then a set of cooking chopsticks, because some wands are longer than others, after all.

Wands 2

You will also need a hot glue gun and appropriate hot glue sticks. Kind of key. You’re going to use a lot of glue for these so be prepared!

Wands 4

Optional are beads. Plastic, wooden, whatever. Doesn’t matter what colour. I also added some string. Because I like string.

Wands 3

Then I sat myself down with one of her favourite television shows to inspire me and I got to work (I probably should have watched Harry Potter but I’m on season two on Netflix and things are really starting to get good!).

Wands 5

From here what you do is pretty much up to you. I glued on some of the larger beads at the butt end of the wand as kind of a backstop.

Wands 6

And one on the tip as sort of an extender.

Wands 7

Then I added some texture and filler with glue.

Wands 8

Twirly whirly.

Wands 9

On this one I went with some string and some small beads.

Wands 10

Here I let the glue and gravity do their thing. If you use the high setting on your glue gun the glue will stay liquid for longer.

Wands 11

You can roll almost-cold glue between your hands to shape it but I tend to burn myself so I didn’t do that. I just let the glue cool unadulterated.

Wands 12

Wands 13

Now you can paint! I used craft paint, in a few different shades of brown. I painted the tips of the wands a darker brown, almost black, because I figure if they’re shooting sparks all the time they might get a little singed, right? I also added bits of silver here and there.

Wands 14

After the paint dried I coated each with a liberal layer of gloss Mod Podge and let that dry overnight. Any other form of sealant would work well – but you should definitely seal them with something because craft paint will just scratch right off hot glue.

Wands 16

Pretty fancy, no?

Wands 18

I’m not sure what she’s going to do with EIGHT MAGIC WANDS but that’s really not the point of this whole exercise, is it?

Wands 21

Author: allythebell

A corgi. A small boy. A sense of adventure. Chaos ensues.

11 thoughts on “A Magic Christmas Eve”

  1. I made some recently and had so many issues with the glue- constantly lifted and eventually fell off….I ended up using caulking…I would LOVE it if you checked out my post. I’d love your input! Not sure how to post the link here though….

    Like

  2. SUPER! – I was going to be content with everyone at the Christmas table wearing a crown – but add a Magic Wand…!!!???….brilliant. Thank You Ally…you are in inspiration. All the best to you and yours.
    Deb

    Like

Leave a Reply

