Nailed It. Not so much.

We interrupt your regularly scheduled M-W-F postings of awesomeness to bring you a special update: I suck at something. The day I turn into Martha Stewart and everything I do comes out perfectly will be the day that this blog – and its purpose – comes to an end and you all leave me and find something better to read on the internet.

Plaster Votives 2

Because part of learning to be a grown-up (it’s an ongoing thing, in my opinion) is owning your mistakes. And so that is also part of this blog. So here’s my newest total epic failure. It may, even, top Floor Pizza as one of the best examples of failure to follow instructions.

So I was aiming for this gorgeousness, from Design Mom:

Image copyright Amy Christie for Design Mom. I cannot take pictures that look this good. Are you kidding me?

Those are beautiful, and I know several people for whom they would make great gifts.

However, due to my lack of patience for things that require, well, patience, I got this:

Plaster Votives 15

Why did I fail? Many reasons. I have never worked with plaster of Paris before, and I failed to do my due diligence and read up on how it really works. It was the end of a long day and I went with the package instructions. Definitely a mistake.

I also didn’t believe the package instructions (because NORMALLY I get a second or a third opinion from the internet) and I totally MESSED up the proportions. Also the package didn’t tell me how long to wait for this stuff to start working so I went from gray water to cement before I was totally ready.

Plaster Votives 11

Seeing as I have prepped nine flowers to make this job, and I have only thoroughly destroyed four of them, there is the chance that I can maybe do this again someday. If I can find another bucket. My poor cement-filled bucket …

Plaster Votives 13

Author: allythebell

A corgi. A small boy. A sense of adventure. Chaos ensues.

15 thoughts on “Nailed It. Not so much.”

  1. Sorry to make light of your situation, but it’s comforting to see that someone else has a failed internet project. Picture those cute tissue paper pom poms looking like wadded up paper napkins. Cute, real cute. Thanks for sharing 🙂

    Like

  2. Sorry it didn’t work out but I have to say I love this! I’m so tired of reading blogs where people tell you how super easy it is to make complicated things. I’m always devastated when I can’t do it right so it’s a refreshing read to hear someone else doesn’t always get it right first time!xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

