Roasted Chicken and Red Pepper Alfredo

Roasted Chicken and Red Pepper Alfredo 22

This was a bit of comfort food I kind of winged and kind of cheated on (who has time to make Alfredo sauce from scratch?). It was also a great recipe for what I like to call “cooking in spurts” – when I only have a few minutes here and there in the kitchen so I do little tasks throughout the day.

Roasted Chicken and Red Pepper Alfredo 1

First I roasted 4 bone-in, skin-on chicken thighs. I set them in a glass baking dish and stuffed fresh sage and thyme under the skin. I dusted the tops with salt and pepper. Then I baked them at 350°F for about 45 minutes, until the skin was crispy and the juices ran clear.

Roasted Chicken and Red Pepper Alfredo 2

Then I turned on the broiler and roasted 2 whole red peppers, turning them every 5 minutes or so, for about 20 minutes, until the skin was blackened. I let that cool for a while.

Roasted Chicken and Red Pepper Alfredo 3

Roasted Chicken and Red Pepper Alfredo 4

Then I came back and pulled the skin off and discarded the seeds and stem. Then I went away again.

Roasted Chicken and Red Pepper Alfredo 5

Coming back in, I sliced up half a package of white mushrooms and sautéed them in butter and olive oil on medium heat until brown and starting to crisp. I removed them from the heat and went away again. I’m a busy person.

Roasted Chicken and Red Pepper Alfredo 9

Then I decided to actually get on with the business of cooking dinner. So I diced up a sweet onion and chucked that in a large frying pan with some butter and olive oil.

Roasted Chicken and Red Pepper Alfredo 7

I sautéed that on medium heat until the little onion pieces turned translucent, then I chucked in a few teaspoons minced garlic, as well as some salt and pepper.

Roasted Chicken and Red Pepper Alfredo 13

While that was going on, I pulled apart the chicken thighs and shredded the meat with a fork. I saved some of the nice fatty juices that came out of them, to add flavour to the sauce. I also saved the little bits of herb I’d roasted under the skin.

Roasted Chicken and Red Pepper Alfredo 10

As well, I diced the roasted peppers.

Roasted Chicken and Red Pepper Alfredo 11

And brought a large pot of salted water to boil for the pasta. I used a four-cheese tortellini here, because I like how filling it is.

Roasted Chicken and Red Pepper Alfredo 17

While the water was starting to get its boil on, I chucked the chicken (and reserved juices/herbs), peppers, and mushrooms into the pan with the onions and garlic.

Roasted Chicken and Red Pepper Alfredo 14

Then I dumped in a jar of pre-made alfredo sauce. I always add a little bit of water to the empty jar and give it a swish to get everything left.

Roasted Chicken and Red Pepper Alfredo 15

I stirred that for about 5 minutes at medium heat until everything started to bubble and smell amazing.

Roasted Chicken and Red Pepper Alfredo 16

I reduced the heat to low while I cooked the pasta according to the package directions. I drained the pasta and dumped it into the pan with the sauce.

Roasted Chicken and Red Pepper Alfredo 19

And then we ATE THE WHOLE THING. That’s a lie. We didn’t. Not all in one sitting, are you crazy? But I had seconds.

Roasted Chicken and Red Pepper Alfredo 20

Author: allythebell

A corgi. A small boy. A sense of adventure. Chaos ensues.

14 thoughts on “Roasted Chicken and Red Pepper Alfredo”

  1. Looks great! I’ve never roasted 4 chickens at once – how big were they? But I have roasted 2 big chickens at the same time. This cooking style fits my schedule – I’m in and out a lot!

    Like

  2. I love any recipe that includes roasted red peppers so this one really stood out to me! I don’t care for mushrooms, do you have a good recommendation of what I could substitute?

    Like

Leave a Reply

