Ridiculously Easy Coconut Cream Bars

DSCN2495

I seem to have put myself in the evil cycle of making treats for my bimonthly meetings at the office.  I feel like I’m trying to curry favour with the boss or something.

But these don’t really count as putting in effort, because they’re stupid easy, and the perfect thing to make on a hot day when you don’t want to use the oven.

DSCN2482

Spray a 9″x 13″ baking dish and set that aside for a second.

DSCN2483

Grab a large bowl and dump in 20oz shredded coconut, 14oz sweetened condensed milk, and 2 cups icing sugar.  Give that a good stir.

DSCN2484

Now smoosh that all into the baking dish and freeze it for about an hour.

DSCN2485

When that’s almost ready to go, melt yourself 24oz chocolate and let it cool to room temperature.  I actually melted this stuff just after I shoved the coconut into the freezer and then I took the dog out for a while (more than an hour) and when I came back it was perfect.

DSCN2486

DSCN2488

Cut the frozen coconut into squares and dip it in the melted chocolate.  Make sure to get all the holes sealed because the interior will leak out once it warms up.

DSCN2489

Sprinkle the top of each square with an additional pinch of coconut before the chocolate hardens, which will happen quickly.

DSCN2491

Set on waxed paper to fully harden and store sealed in an airtight container — I kept mine in the fridge because it’s quite warm out.

DSCN2493

Author: allythebell

A corgi. A small boy. A sense of adventure. Chaos ensues.

31 thoughts on “Ridiculously Easy Coconut Cream Bars”

      1. Haha! I’m going to try it out sometime this week. No self control so I’m sure I’ll be 10 pounds heavier by the weekend. I’d love for you to follow my blog! 🙂

        Like

  1. With your permission, I would love to make these for my site and include a link to your site! I couldn’t find an email or contact anywhere on your site, but would like to e-mail you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

