Chicken Bacon Ranch Pasta

Chicken Bacon Ranch Pasta 16

I’ve gotten into the habit of occasionally buying those hot roasted chickens from the grocery store.  They’re just so darned cheap and handy, not to mention tasty.  Last weekend, the Pie was out of town, and sometimes I forget to actually eat when he’s not around, so I bought the chicken to give me some incentive.  One leg at one meal, one leg at another, and I was set.  But I still had the body of the chicken left to deal with.  I dismantled the remainder of the carcass, including the breasts, and whipped up this quick pasta dish to greet the Pie when he came home.  He went back for seconds so I think I did a good job.

So.  Chicken.  You’ll need about 2 cups shredded chicken.

Chicken Bacon Ranch Pasta 2

About 1 cup ranch dressing.

Chicken Bacon Ranch Pasta 3

An onion, some garlic, and a head of broccoli.  Chop those up.

Chicken Bacon Ranch Pasta 1

Cook 4 slices bacon.

Chicken Bacon Ranch Pasta 4

Make them super crispy and then put them somewhere to drain.

Chicken Bacon Ranch Pasta 9

Start your pot of boiling water to make your pasta.  You’ll need enough noodles for four.  I used linguini.

Chicken Bacon Ranch Pasta 14

Grab a pot and chuck in a few tablespoons olive oil.  Add in the onions and cook until translucent and smelling fabulous.

Chicken Bacon Ranch Pasta 5

Then add in the broccoli and garlic and stir that as well.

Chicken Bacon Ranch Pasta 6

Next, add in a few pinches dry mustard and pepper and paprika (you’ll see the paprika added in a later photo but that’s because I had to wait for the Pie to pick it up from the store on his way home).

Chicken Bacon Ranch Pasta 7

Pour in about 1 cup milk, 1/2 cup cream, and the 1 cup ranch dressing.

Chicken Bacon Ranch Pasta 8

Chuck in the chicken, then cut up the bacon and chuck that in as well.

Chicken Bacon Ranch Pasta 10

Stir that to heat things up.  You’re not really going to want to cook this for a long time.

Chicken Bacon Ranch Pasta 11

Then add in a few tablespoons pesto.  And some more cream if you want it thicker.

Chicken Bacon Ranch Pasta 12

Drain the pasta and return it to the pot.  Dump the sauce over top and toss to coat.  Serve immediately, although it’s equally fantastic the next day.

Chicken Bacon Ranch Pasta 15

Author: allythebell

A corgi. A small boy. A sense of adventure. Chaos ensues.

10 thoughts on “Chicken Bacon Ranch Pasta”

    1. Good question. I think the chicken was $8 and I used about half of it, the pasta was half a package that cost me $1. I did use pricey bacon, so maybe $1.50 for the four slices. Other than that, the green onions and broccoli that I used were less than a dollar each, I’d say.

      Like

Leave a Reply

