Fast Tip Friday: Floral Napkin Folding

I was trying to go for “Folding Floral Face-Wipes” but even I can’t take alliteration that far in a title.

Floral Napkin 1

Happy Valentine’s Day!  Tonight is our big dinner party and as you know I’m going all out on the decorations: fine china, silverware, and even linen tablecloths and napkins. I wish the napkins were pink or red but I have to be satisfied with white ones and even so they make a cute little flower button for your place settings!

Start with a nice thick cloth napkin.  Obviously, linen has that nice stiffness to it.

Floral Napkin 3

Unfold it and then re-fold it into an isosceles  triangle.  Don’t worry about the creases.  The lumpier the napkin is, the better.

Floral Napkin 4

Starting from the point across from the longest edge, start folding/rolling up the napkin until you reach the end.

Floral Napkin 5

Then start at one end of your napkin sausage and start rolling it up.

Floral Napkin 6

Don’t try to make it too tight. In fact, don’t try too hard at any of this. The more half-assed you are the better they will look.

Floral Napkin 7

Tuck the end of the napkin into one of the rolls to hold it in place.

Floral Napkin 8

Now you’re done.  You can place it in a decorative bowl and ornament it with real or fake leaves.

Floral Napkin 10

Or do whatever you want with it really.

Floral Napkin 11

I made a bunch.

Floral Napkin 13

And here’s what they look like in context:

Valentine's Table 4

There’s a bit of a resemblance …

Valentine's Table 10

Zoom out.

Valentine's Table 6

Overboard? Me? PFFFFFFT.

Valentine's Table 1

Author: allythebell

A corgi. A small boy. A sense of adventure. Chaos ensues.

9 thoughts on “Fast Tip Friday: Floral Napkin Folding”

  1. It is great that you are promoting use of linen napkins over disposable ones. I stopped using throw away napkins a couple of years ago and am much happier. I also wanted to let you know that I nominated you for a Homie over at Apartment Therapy. Just my way of thanking you for your blog which I enjoy so much.

    Like

    1. Woohoo! Thanks so much Jessica! My parents are sticklers for tradition so getting the fancy set up for this was pretty easy. I had to stop myself before I ended up “floralizing” ALL their linen napkins!

      Like

Leave a Reply

