A Little Lettuce Trick

Lettuce Trick 5

I’m sure you all knew this, but I didn’t.  I missed out the day that they taught life hacks in class. So I thought this one was nifty.

For some reason the Pie and I don’t really eat a lot of lettuce.  We need one or two leaves of it every once in a while, but if we buy a whole head, no matter how many different ways we try to preserve it, it goes bad.  I mean, this is Newfoundland, after all.

But I learned, from the internet, that you can re-plant your lettuce stubs and grow new leaves.  Novel.

So I have a lettuce stub here, which I’ve left to sit in a bowl of water on my windowsill for a week.

Lettuce Trick 1

You can see that already a new baby leaf is growing out of the stub.

Lettuce Trick 2

And on the bottom it’s all swollen and weird.  I suspect these will become roots.

Lettuce Trick 3

So now you plant it. Stick it nicely in potting soil with good drainage. And set it somewhere sunny.

Lettuce Trick 4

And wait for your lettuce to grow.  Again. And it will!

Author: allythebell

A corgi. A small boy. A sense of adventure. Chaos ensues.

7 thoughts on “A Little Lettuce Trick”

Leave a Reply

