Wingin’ It Wednesday: A Custard of Sorts

Custard of Sorts 15

I had a million yolks leftover.  Like, a million.  And I like pudding.  So I thought I’d make some.  Kind of.

Custard of Sorts 5

I started with about 6 tablespoons butter in a pot.

Custard of Sorts 1

Then I  melted that and added in 2/3 cup brown sugar and let that get all melty and foamy.

Custard of Sorts 2

Custard of Sorts 3

Then I reduced the heat and whisked in 1/2 cup heavy cream (again, something I had leftover from other stuff).  Added a pinch of salt, then 2 cups milk.

Custard of Sorts 4

In a bowl, I took my 6 egg yolks (for argument’s sake, let’s  say there were 6) and whisked them together with 1/4 cup cream and 3 tablespoons corn starch (because I wasn’t sure how custardy these yolks would be after sitting in the fridge all week).

Custard of Sorts 6

Custard of Sorts 7

Ever so slowly I whisked that into the hot sugar/milk on the stove.

Custard of Sorts 8

Almost immediately the whole thing began to curdle, but I kept stirring, and then I added 2 tablespoons vanilla.

Custard of Sorts 9

Then miraculously things smoothed out quite a bit.

Custard of Sorts 10

Custard of Sorts 11

Plopped that goo in ramekins and chucked them in the fridge.

Custard of Sorts 13

Not really pudding.  Or custard.  But tasty.

Custard of Sorts 16

Author: allythebell

A corgi. A small boy. A sense of adventure. Chaos ensues.

1 thought on “Wingin’ It Wednesday: A Custard of Sorts”

Leave a Reply

