Reflections on Reflections

Happy Birthday Mags!

I finally got my new reflector in the mail.  Hooray!

Reflections on Reflecting 1

The problem is, when I bought it, I thought, oh, 44″, that’s the size of my TV, I can live with that (because for some reason it was half the price of the smaller size).  But then I got it and was shocked at how huge it was.  And then the Pie told me that 44″ was the size of our LAST TV, not this one, which is significantly smaller.  Oops.

Reflections on Reflecting 2

So this one has a shiny silver side, a shiny gold side, a white side, a black side, and even this nifty translucent section — for softening harsh sunlight.  I doubt I will be using that one much while living in St. John’s, if these gray skies are any indication.

Reflections on Reflecting 7

My first experiments with the reflector therefore had to be with a gray afternoon sky as my main light source.

So I took a grapefruit. It was what happened to be there when I thought of this.  This is the control shot. The following photos have been cropped but are otherwise unedited.

Reflections on Reflecting 3

Here it is with the silver.

Reflections on Reflecting 4

And the gold, to warm it up a bit.

Reflections on Reflecting 5

And the white.

Reflections on Reflecting 6

I didn’t try the black one because I needed all the light I could get, but that’s what I got so far.  I’m looking forward to experimenting more in different settings.  But I do wish I’d gotten a smaller one.  I guess I could just get the Pie to hold it for me …

Author: allythebell

A corgi. A small boy. A sense of adventure. Chaos ensues.

7 thoughts on “Reflections on Reflections”

      1. I tend to prop it up against something, but I don’t use it all the time any more – I’ve started really trying to work with shadows as much as I can, which is really pleasing especially when you have a DSLR.

        Like

      2. Yeah my floors are so slippery when I prop it, it tends to travel. I don’t have the patience for a DSLR but I agree that shadows are fun to play with. I look forward to getting out of St. John’s and actually seeing a few sometimes when it’s sunny!

        Like

      3. Hmm – you’ll work something out, I’m sure. I tend to improvise! DSLR doesn’t really require that much patience, it’s so enjoyable. But each to their own I guess – I can’t speak for you. 😀

        Like

Leave a Reply

