Keeping Green Onions

Green Onions

I don’t know about you, but I have a really hard time keeping green onions fresh here in St. John’s. When I buy them they’re usually pretty sad-looking, and if I don’t use them all right away then they wilt almost immediately.

The “vegetable crisper” in my refrigerator is a dank, dark box that does nothing any good.  I’ve tried keeping the onions out of the crisper, but the result is the same.  I tried putting them in water inside the fridge, but then the water just froze (my fridge is ancient and can’t regulate its own temperature) and the onions died anyway.

I bought these ones and used only a few and figured I’d try leaving them out and see if anything different happened.  So I put them in a cup of water and put them on a sunny windowsill.  And this is the result.  I lost a few strands of onion, but those that are still there are vibrant and actually growing longer — I think I have twice as much onion as I bought originally.

How do you keep your green onions fresh?

Author: allythebell

A corgi. A small boy. A sense of adventure. Chaos ensues.

11 thoughts on “Keeping Green Onions”

  1. I’m a fellow Newfoundlander and I usually just keep mine in the fridge in the little bag they come in, and don’t have too much trouble. I’ve read that you can easily GROW your own green onions too! Place the white parts (of the onions you’ve already used) in a jar in an inch or two of water on the window sill, and apparently they’ll regrow. Supposedly, you can do this for three or four growth cycles. I tried this once and it didn’t work, but I think I had too much water in the jar. The only maintenance is to change the water every couple of days.

    Here’s the info: http://thekrazycouponlady.com/at-home/ill-never-pay-again-one-simple-way-to-free-green-onions/. Someone in the comments mentioned that they plant them in a pot, and that they last longer this way. There’s lots of info out there though!

    Like

Leave a Reply

