Removing Orchid Fungus

How’s that for an inviting title?

This is my orchid.  Isn’t it lovely?  My neighbour gave it to me for Christmas.

But you see the leaves here?  See that white stuff?  It’s FUNGUS.  Ew.

Not to worry.  It doesn’t do any real damage to your plant.

And it’s easy to remove.

Check this out.  Take an alcohol pad, or a cotton ball with alcohol on it, and just give your leaves a thorough wiping.

Don’t forget the undersides of the leaves either. 

And of course make sure you get all the other leaves.

That’s it, that’s all there is to it.  TADA.

Author: allythebell

A corgi. A small boy. A sense of adventure. Chaos ensues.

4 thoughts on “Removing Orchid Fungus”

  1. Not a comment on this post,but a question.

    I have had cats to stay for a month and one has cerebral palsy. result – he doesn;t know where his back end is and often misses the litter box.

    How do I get rid of the smell in my powder room – I think some pee seeped under the baseboard and that is the prob. Help please!

    Like

    1. Hey Julie,

      It seems most of the commercial odor removers just mask the problem or add more chemicals to your house. The home remedies I’ve found seem to involve various proportions of hydrogen peroxide, baking soda, and dish detergent. I suspect that the peroxide will break down the crystals in the urine and the baking soda will work on the smell.

      This site here gives you a recipe and also has how-tos on removing the odor from carpets and hardwood floors. You may need to pry off the baseboard to get at it, but it will probably be worth it: http://www.remove-cat-urine.com/THE-RECIPE.html

      This one here also adds vinegar to the mix, though with the peroxide I’m not sure that’s necessary: http://www.catsofaustralia.com/urinestainremoval.htm

      Let me know if it works, and take pictures — you could be the next guest blogger!

      Like

  2. Hi Ally….my question is about orchids….I saw your blog about the fungus however, the fungus I have actually looks like a burn but it’s white….a friend of mine from the islands told me to use soap water and spray it on the leaves….any suggestion?

    Like

Leave a Reply

