Handy Items Week: Seagull Laundry Rack

Cait and her fiancé  iPM will be on a whirlwind tour of St. John’s this week, so the Pie and I will be playing host and tour guide while they’re here.

To keep you entertained until they get out of our hair and I can give you your own personal tour of my city, I’m giving you eight days of gadgets that I cannot live without.

Today is the ‘seagull’ laundry rack.

To save on our energy bills and to be nicer to the environment, the Pie and I try to air-dry all our laundry.

Because we live in Newfoundland, which is windy and damp all the time, an outdoor laundry line is out of the question.  At least on our street, which is a veritable wind tunnel.

I’ve had two of these seagull racks for years now, and they are fantastic.  They hold more clothes than the other styles of rack and the enamel coating keeps them from rusting or marking the wet clothes. They fold up nice and flat and are easy to store away.

At one point I tried to hang eight pairs of jeans on this rack and it kind of buckled.  But I’ve since reinforced it with two pieces of dowelling and some copper wire and now it holds all the heaviest clothes while I put the lighter ones on the other rack.

They cost me about $24 each at Loblaws some years ago.

Author: allythebell

A corgi. A small boy. A sense of adventure. Chaos ensues.

2 thoughts on “Handy Items Week: Seagull Laundry Rack”

  1. I really like these type of clothes drying racks that all the clothes are hung up high. I never had enough socks and personals to fill the lower bars on those accordion type of racks. I now have a wooden rack that I can hang 12 pairs of jeans on however I find they dry better with only 6 since I can spread them out a little more.

    Like

Leave a Reply

