rodentia

From doyourownpestcontrol.com

Anyone have an earth and animal-friendly way to get rid of mice?

I saw one walking out of our fireplace the other night, and the Pie saw one coming out of our hot water heater closet the night after that.

I have since vacuumed up everything, shoveled out the fireplace (which is blocked off and broken), and done my best to keep the house crumb-free.

We read that fabric softener dryer sheets were a good repellent.  The stronger the better.  I’ve jammed them into all the cracks I can find in the hopes they will do the trick.  The problem is that neither of us is used to strong perfumes anymore, so we’re wandering around sneezing our faces off.

I also heard that peppermint oil or tea tree oil rubbed onto surfaces they might pass by is also a good repellent, but I have so far been unable to locate any in St. John’s.

Steel wool or copper mesh is supposed to work well, too, but I don’t think I could jam it into those cracks without severing the tips of all my fingers.

My landlord has told me that she will call Orkin if necessary, but I’m not too keen on poison, both for my own cardio-pulmonary system and that of the poor little mice (it’s not their fault, they’re just following a biological imperative).  If I can keep them out until the spring, we should be okay.

Any ideas?

Author: allythebell

A corgi. A small boy. A sense of adventure. Chaos ensues.

7 thoughts on “rodentia”

  1. [LOL] I know of one green-conscious, poison free method – get a cat or two. After all, the cats are only following a biological imperative when they chomp them. ;-P

    You are far too kind to your household pests – mind you, I’ve been known to rescue chipmunks and shrews from the cats (they used to come in through the driver vent) on occasion.

    The steel wool will discourage them (they don’t like to chew through it) – if you can locate the entry point, stuff it in there. Wear some gloves to protect your hands if necessary and use a screwdriver to stuff it in.

    Soak cotton balls soaked in peppermint oil and place them near any entry points you discover and anyplace the mice frequent; if possible, stuff a cotton ball soaked thus in with the steel wool when you close off the entry point.

    Cheers,

    Ted

    Like

    1. I heard the cotton balls dry out and then the mice just use them as nesting material. And my husband is allergic to cats.

      If I could find the whole I will wholeheartedly stuff it with steel wool. But I suspect it’s in the dark and cramped recesses behind my water heater.

      The pie saw another one heading into the kitchen a few minutes ago and we moved all the appliances only to find nothing. Of course.

      Like

  2. You can try Havahart humane traps and ultrasonic repellers (some are powered by batteries, other plug directly into an outlet); you should be able to pick them up at Crappy Tire or Walhel.

    Like

  3. the humane traps work, just don’t do what tegan did and leave the mouse in there for days. it tried to chew its way out and died.

    we can send you ours, we have a mouse too but your brother doesn’t want to deal with it 😉

    Like

  4. When I last had a mouse in the house, I used pellets dosed with cat urine and small bags of used cat litter (acquired through a vet tech friend of mine, not from the neighborhood cats), placing them near suspected entry and hiding points.
    Pros: Got rid of the mice. And they won’t use silica litter for nesting material, either.
    Cons: The smell. They also need to be left out for a few weeks to be an effective deterrent. This brings us back to the smell.

    You might be able to find an artificial, less pungent equivalent?

    Like

Leave a Reply

