Playing with Puff Pastry

Puff Pastry Thing 17

D’you remember, a while back, where I had leftover puff pastry and leftover cream cheese icing, and I made a thing? Well.  I did it again. I had some leftover cream cheese icing from the Pie’s Spider-Man spice cake, which I had chucked in the freezer to keep.  There’s almost 2 cups of this stuff.

Puff Pastry Thing 1

I had also chucked in there some strawberries that I had stewed when they were on their last legs, so they were pretty much freezer jam.  There’s about 3 cups in here I think.

Puff Pastry Thing 2

Then I bought some puff pastry.  So this thing had to happen.  First, I preheated the oven to 375°F and lined some baking sheets with parchment paper.  Leave your puff pastry in the fridge until you need it or it will be soggy and hard to work with.

Puff Pastry Thing 5

Then I cracked 2 eggs into the cream cheese frosting (you can find the recipe in here) and beat it until it’s smooth.

Puff Pastry Thing 3

I laid out the puff pastry (pre-rolled, woo!) and cut it into 9 squares.

Puff Pastry Thing 6

I put a teaspoon of the cream cheese batter in the centre of the square and followed it up with one of fruit.

Puff Pastry Thing 8

Then I pinched the corners together and sealed it as best as I could (which turned out to be not very well) and bunged them in the oven for about 12 minutes, until the pastry was golden and the innards were solid-ish.

Puff Pastry Thing 9

I set them on a rack to cool.  This made 18 of them.

Puff Pastry Thing 14

I still had plenty of cream cheese and strawberry stuff left and the oven was already on, so I added them together and chucked in about half a cup flour plus 1/2 teaspoon baking soda.

Puff Pastry Thing 10

I scooped that into cupcake cups, and baked those for another 12 minutes, until the centres came out clean when tested with a toothpick.

Puff Pastry Thing 12

Puff Pastry Thing 13

Those also went on the rack to cool.

Puff Pastry Thing 18

And now I have dessert for our softball team, made from stuff I had in the freezer!  One of the people I fed it to dubbed the pastry bits “Jammy Fantastics,” which I kind of like.

Puff Pastry Thing 20

Puff Pastry Thing 21

12 thoughts on “Playing with Puff Pastry”

  1. if you mix an egg yolk and a little bit of water and brush it all over your batter (and on the inside where it should be pinched) it has two effects. First of all it will get golden and 2. it will stick together (at least better) and the jam doesn’t taste burnt then (:

Leave a Reply

